Awards and Honours


Creative Freedom Award: 2000 (Chocolat)

Whitaker Gold Award: 2000

Salon du Livre Gourmand: 2000

Author of the Year: 2002

WH Smith Award: 2002

Premio Grinzane Cavour: 2003

Golden Ladle Award (for The French Kitchen): 2005

Glenfiddich Award: 2006
Whitaker Platinum Award: 2012

Jasmine Award (for perfume journalism): 2017

Pink News Ally of the Year: 2022


Hon. doctorate: Huddersfield University (D. Litt)

Hon. doctorate: Sheffield University (D. Litt)

MBE: 2013

Hon. fellowship of St Catharine’s College, Cambridge: 2017

OBE: 2022

Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature: 2022